Concacaf gives qualification criteria for the Champions League from 2024 | CONCACAF Champions

The concacaf announced on Wednesday the ranking criteria for the Champions League from the 2024 edition with a total of 27 participating clubs from across the region.

Through a press release, the governing body indicated that the new Champions League will feature 27 clubs and over 50 matches to qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup.

Mexico and the United States can have up to seven qualified teams since the new criteria currently give at least six places for the Liga MX and MLS.

Concacaf Champions League: Format and new qualification criteria

It will continue to be played in a knockout format and will consist of five rounds (first round, round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and final). The final will be a single match.


MLS: It ranks the champion, the winner of the Supporters Shield (team with the most points of the season), Conference champion against the champion and the two best clubs in terms of points in the year. The US Open Cup champion also qualifies, if he is already ranked as the runner-up, another passes by the sum of the points. Both teams from the United States and Canada qualify.

Canadian Premier League (CPL): If a club occupies a place, the one that has accumulated the most points in the season will qualify.

Canadian Championship: If the champion already occupies a qualifying place, the second is the one who will obtain his ticket. If it is the same case, the semi-finalist will be qualified.

League Cup: The champion, the runner-up and the third will qualify. Regulations regarding when clubs complete multiple qualifying slots will be determined in due course, prior to the start of this competition.


The 20 clubs classified via their leagues will participate in the Copa Centroamericana and will be divided into four groups of five teams. The top two will qualify for the Copa Centroamericana knockout round.

The direct elimination round will consist of the quarter-finals, semi-finals, repechage and the final. The champion, runner-up, semi-finalists and both repechage winners qualify.


There will be 10 clubs participating in the Caribbean Cup split into two groups of five teams. The top two clubs from each group will qualify for the Caribbean Cup Round of 16.

The champion, the second and the third will qualify for the Concacaf Champions League.

Total happiness! Seattle Sounders lift the Concacaf trophy

Elite Boss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.