Summit of the Americas: Fernández travels to Los Angeles – News

President Alberto Fernández will leave this Tuesday evening for the American city of Los Angeles, to participate in the IX Summit of the Americas, which will be expressed under the slogan “Building a sustainable, resilient and equitable future”, where he will carry his message as President temp worker of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC).

The head of state and his entourage will depart at 11:00 p.m. from Ezeiza International Airport to attend the leaders’ summit, chaired by US President Joe Biden, which will take place between Thursday and Friday of this week.

The President will travel accompanied by the First Lady, Fabiola Yáñez; the President of the Chamber of Deputies, Sergio Massa; the chancellor, Santiago Cafiero; the Minister of Health, Carla Vizzotti, and the spokesperson for the presidency, Gabriela Cerruti.

The secretary general of the presidency, Julio Vitobello; strategic affairs, Gustavo Beliz; legal and technical secretaries, Vilma Ibarra; and Climate Change, Sustainable Development and Innovation, Cecilia Nicolini. They will also be accompanied by the head of the Cabinet of Advisors, Juan Manuel Olmos; and national deputy Eduardo Valdés.

/Code built into the house/

Also see

International relationships

/End of embed code/

According to official sources, Fernandez will deliver his speech on Friday, while tomorrow Cafiero will attend the Foreign Ministers’ Summit led by US Secretary of State Antony Blinken as host.

For his part, Yañez will take part in the social activities organized within the framework of the Summit of the Americas, invited by the first lady of the United States, Jill Biden: “In difficult times for the world, I am happy that these precious spaces of ‘regional exchanges exist.’, posted the first lady on her social media account instagram.

The international meeting also includes the holding of the ninth Civil Society Forum -which took place this Monday-, the fourth Summit of CEOs of the Americas -which takes place this Tuesday- and the sixth Youth Forum of the Americas, which will begin on Wednesday.

For his part, the Argentine President will bring to the top the position of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC), whose appropriation temp worker it is in your power.

This position includes a warning on the consequences in the south of the planet of the war in Ukraine as well as on the need for a united Latin America without exclusions; on this last point following the decision of the host country not to invite Venezuela, Nicaragua and Cuba to this summit, for having denounced the violations of human rights in these countries.

/Code built into the house/

/End of embed code/

The president had confirmed his presence last Wednesday – after a certain delay in the decision because of these exclusions – by a letter which he sent to the organizers of the summit.

In this context, the President of Mexico, Andrés Manuel López Obrador – who finally gave up last Monday to go to the Summit – had asked Fernández to go there on behalf of the member countries of CELAC.

Washington has already announced that it will not invite the governments of Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua to this multilateral meeting, which has prompted López Obrador and other leaders to reject participation in this conclave.

The Summit is the Meeting of Heads of State and Government of the Americas, which takes place within the framework of the Organization of American States (OAS), takes place approximately every three years and is the only meeting that brings together all heads of democratically elected states State and government of the countries of South America, Central America and North America.

However, not all of the continent’s leaders have always been present, either because they do not attend or because they are not invited.

The objective of this forum is to analyze and debate the problems and challenges facing the American continent, as well as to strengthen hemispheric integration and national and collective responsibility, in order to improve the economic well-being and the security of the citizens of the participating countries. . .

All 35 OAS Heads of State and Government are participating: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Chile, Dominica, Ecuador, El El Salvador, United Dominican States Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela.

/Code built into the house/

/End of embed code/

Elite Boss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.