Canada bans Vladimir Putin and Russian officials from entering the country

the canadian government will restrict the entry of Russian President Vladimir Putin, as well as Sergei Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs. Added to the restriction are those close to the Russian president and officials who already have sanctions.

Canada’s Minister of Public Safety, Marco Mendicinoexplained that the Canadian government was going to change the country’s immigration laws to prevent people sanctioned by Ottawa from entering the country.

Our recommendation: Zelensky from Cannes: cinema must not be silent in the face of the worst conflict since the Second World War

In response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Canada imposed economic sanctions on Putin, Lavrov, and their daughters and other close relatives.

Canada has also sanctioned hundreds of Kremlin-aligned senior officials and oligarchs from Russia, Belarus and Ukraine, such as Roman Abramovich.

Persons sanctioned cannot receive financial services in Canada or from Canadians abroad.

Mendicino said that in the face of “the Putin regime’s brutal onslaught”, barring key Russian figures from entering the country is one way Canada can claim responsibility for crimes committed in Ukraine.

After Mendicino’s announcement, the government presented to the Senate the amendments to the immigration laws to make effective the ban on entry into the country of Putin and his relatives.

➡️ Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the most relevant notes in your email

After approval in the Senate, the amendments must be voted on in the Lower House of Parliament before entering into force.

Elite Boss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.