Adán, Jesús Ramírez and others are shown as members of the Congress of Morena

Active federal and state government officials were elected as Members of the National Congress of Morena in the internal selection process carried out last Saturday and Sunday.

According to preliminary results, currently being validated by the party’s National Commission for Honesty and Justice, the Secretary of the Interior, Adam Augusto Lopezwas the male candidate with the most votes in his constituency, Villahermosa 4, with 1,250 votes.

Another favored federal official in Morena’s congressional election was Jesus Ramirez Cuevasgeneral coordinator of Social Communication of the Presidency of the Republic and who was selected by the 14th district of Tlalpan.

In this district they were also elected Alfonso Ramirez Cuellarformer federal deputy and former national chief of Morena, and Carlos Ulloa PerezSecretary for Inclusion and Social Welfare of the Government of Mexico City.

It was not the only administration official Claudia Sheinbaum who managed to place herself among the 3,000 new members of the Morena National Congress, the party’s highest governing body, which will meet on September 17 and 18.

They were also elected —according to the preliminary results— Marti Batressecretary of the government of the capital, for the 15th district of Benito Juárez, and Sebastien RamirezGeneral Manager of Social Communication of Sheinbaum, for District 24 of Coyoacán.

Two other relatives of the head of government, Cesar Cravioto Yes Mary Christina Cruzrespectively former Commissioner of Reconstruction and former Delegate of Social Programs, were elected by District 10 of Miguel Hidalgo.

The mayors of Xochimilco, Jose Carlos Acosta; Gustavo A. Madero, Francois Chiguiland Iztacalco, Armando Quinteroas good as Patricia Ortis Yes Victor Hugo Romoformer mayors of Magdalena Contreras and Miguel Hidalgo, respectively, also secured a spot.

The Morena statute establishes that an official cannot simultaneously hold a leadership position in the party (he is required to resign from one of the positions). However, Mario Delgado, a Morena national leader, assured that none of the elected officials should leave their post, despite the fact that the National Congress is defined in the statute itself as Morena’s “superior authority”, whose the regulations must be accepted by the National Executive Committee (NEC).

“Nothing is happening because they were elected members of the National Congress. Where is the prohibition for public officials and legislators? If you want to be part of the leadership of an executive committee, then he will have to resign from his position. I give you my example: I was a federal deputy, to occupy the position of president of Morena I asked for a license of federal deputy. So there are no restrictions for being a member of Congress, nor any restrictions for being a councillor. These officials could be elected councilors without having to resign, because the statutes prevent it,” Delgado said at a press conference on Monday.

“Even the new President of the National Council could be a public official because there is no impediment. There is a brake for the Executive Committees, but as the Board is an advisory body and not a management body; then, it is possible that there is the presence of civil servants or legislators.

Lee: Morena will reverse victories of congressmen who won ‘the wrong way,’ Mario Delgado warns

Party officials, in Congress

Bertha Lujanpresident of the National Council of Morena and mother of the Federal Secretary of Labor, Luisa María Alcalde, also managed to be elected national deputy of the 23rd district of Coyoacán.

Activists who exercise functions in the leadership of the party have also arrived at the National Congress, such as Rafael Barajas, “the snooper”Director of the National Institute for Political Education, and Pierre-Michel Arcemember of the National Commission of Inquiry, for districts 24 of Coyoacán and 17 of Cuajimalpa, respectively.

The senator Gabriel Garcia Hernandezwho served as Organizational Secretary of the CEN of Morena and later General Coordinator of Programs for the Development of the Presidency of the Republic, was also elected by the 18th District of Iztapalapa.

At the town hall of Cuauhtémoc, for the 12th arrondissement, the former deputy and the former senator were elected Dolores Padierna and the former mayor Nestor Nunez (close to Senator Ricardo Monreal).

The former mayor of Tláhuac Rigoberto Salgado Vazquez Yes his brother Richard — who was in charge of the Servants of the Nation in this demarcation — also obtained a place in the National Congress.

Antonio Attoliniformer member of the #YoSoy132 student movement and former collaborator of Zoé Robledo in the Senate and IMSS, was elected deputy of the 5th district of Torreón.

Several public figures in the party did not make themselves known to become members of Congress, such as academic John Ackerman and Morena’s coordinator in the Chamber of Deputies, Sergio Gutiérrez Luna, who did not obtain the necessary votes in their constituencies. .

What we do at Animal Politico requires professional journalists, teamwork, maintaining a dialogue with readers and something very important: independence. You can help us to continue. Be part of the team. Subscribe to Political Animal, receive benefits and support free journalism.


Trix Barber

"Amateur bacon nerd. Music practitioner. Introvert. Total beer junkie. Pop culture fanatic. Avid internet guru."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.